Um school medicine rgb 300x78


 

Update to Operational Status for Cores

The University of Maryland, Baltimore (UMB) will move to Phase 2, the Ramping Up Phase, on Monday, July 27.

Phase 2 pertains to preclinical laboratory-based research and includes the following strict requirements for occupancy: no more than 50 percent occupancy of laboratories and research spaces with a minimum of 150 square feet per person to maintain physical distancing.

More information can be found here.

Note that PPE can be ordered from BIORESCO.

   

  

CIBR: CENTER FOR INNOVATIVE BIOMEDICAL RESOURCES

 

CIBR's state-of-the-art instrumentation, and expertise support the biomedical research, clinical practice and health care at the University of Maryland School of Medicine and throughout the region.

In addition to the equipment and services provided, CIBR provides access to highly-trained technical staff who can offer support on experimental design, data analysis and interpretation, and provide training opportunities for graduate and medical students, postdoctoral fellows, and faculty within the University and to its collaborators.

 

Information on how to get started and a list of other FAQ's can be found here on the CIBR website.

 

Provide Feedback on Your Experience with the Cores (CLICK HERE)

 

When appropriate please acknowledge our cores in your publications in the format that follows:  “University of Maryland School of Medicine Center for Innovative Biomedical Resources [CORE FACILITY NAME HERE] – Baltimore, Maryland.

 

CONTACT CIBR ADMINISTRATION - SCHEDULE A TOUR OF CIBR  - REQUEST CIBR TO PRESENT AT YOUR DEPARTMENT OR LAB MEETING - Events Help

iLab Cores at University of Maryland School of Medicine

Core Name Primary Contact Email Phone Number/Ext
Biosensor Core

Latest technology for the quantitative study of binding reactions in real time, specifically with an approach that is versatile, highly sensitive, and “user friendly,” with molecules that are label-free. The instruments we use for this purpose are from Biacore® (GE Healthcare).

Robert J. Bloch, PhD rbloch@som.umaryland.edu 410-706-3020
Biostatistics and Bioinformatics Shared Service

State-of-the-art statistical science, expert statistical analysis and sound statistical reporting

Susan Holt sholt@som.umaryland.edu (410) 706-8505
Confocal Microscopy Core

Equipment and expertise to assist investigators in applying advanced fluorescence microscopy techniques to their research.

Joseph Mauban, PhD jmauban@som.umaryland.edu 410-706-6170
Core for Translational Research in Imaging @ Maryland (CTRIM)

State-of-the-art technology for animal imaging at the molecular, cellular and systemic level. Services for in-vivo and ex-vivo cross-sectional and functional imaging using MRI, MR-g-FUS, PET, and CT.

Jiachen Zhuo jzhuo@umm.edu 410-706-2876
Cytokine Core Laboratory

Offers an extensive list of human, mouse, and rat cytokine, chemokine and growth factor assays.

Dr. Jeffrey Hasday jhasday@som.umaryland.edu 410-706-1508
Electron Microscopy Core Imaging Facility

<p>&zwnj;&zwnj;&zwnj;&zwnj;&zwnj;Transmission Electron Microscope, Scanning Electron Microscope, SEM CryoTransfer &amp; Chamber, High Pressure Freezer, Freeze Substitution System, Grid Plunger, CryoUltramicrotome, Gatan 626 cryo holder</p>

Ru-Ching Hsia, PhD rhsia@umaryland.edu 410-706-7992
Flow Cytometry AND Mass Cytometry Core (CVD)

<p>Flow &amp; Mass Cytometry: DakoCytomation MoFlo flow cytometer and cell sorter, BD Biosciences LSR II flow cytometer with 16 parameters and Fluidigm Helios&nbsp;Mass Cytometers with the capability of measuring over 30 parameters simultaneously in a single tube.</p>

Regina Harley, MS rharley@som.umaryland.edu 410-706-0095
Flow Cytometry Core

Sample acquisition on three analytical flow cytometers, expert data analysis, experimental planning and consultation and perform cell sorting on two high speed cell sorters.</p>

Karen Underwood, MS Flowcore@som.umaryland.edu 410-706-2173
General Clinical Research Center (GCRC)

Provide investigators with the resources they need to conduct clinical research, including and the facilities for inpatient and outpatient data collection and patient care, as well as a state-of-the-art DEXA Facility.

Meghan Banchero mbanchero@som.umaryland.edu 410-328-7365
Genomics Core Facility - Formerly Biopolymer Core Facility

DNA Sequencing, Cell Line Authentication, Gene Expression Microarray, Genotyping and more

Nicholas Ambulos, PhD nambulos@som.umaryland.edu 410-706-60665
Mass Spectrometry Center

Strives to accelerate discovery by providing investigators, on campus and beyond, access to cutting-edge technologies in mass spectrometry. Expetise from basic biology and medicine to technology development and translational research

Maureen A. Kane mkane@rx.umaryland.edu 410-706-5097
NORC Facility

Simeon Taylor, PhD staylor2@som.umaryland.edu (410)706-6439
Pathology Biorepository Shared Service (PBSS)

Provides the collection of high quality banked patient samples while maintaining patient confidentiality. PBSS also provides pathology, histology, & histotechnology consultation services to assist principal investigators in the procurement, analyses, & clinicopathologic correlation of human tissue

Ashley Cellini, P.A. (ASCP) acellini@som.umaryland.edu 410-706-2174
Physiology Phenotyping Core (PPC)

Offers services in in vivo measurements of cardiovascular and extra-cardiovascular (e.g. pulmonary, sympathetic, EEG) function in mice and larger animals, either under anesthesia or in a conscious and unrestrained condition.

Ling Chen, M.D., Ph.D. lingchen@som.umaryland.edu 410-706-3283
SOM OPA Printing and Digital Media

The Division of Visual & Broadcast Media offers in-house and location Photography, Videography, and Large-Format Printing

The Photo & Graphics Group photos@som.umaryland.edu (410) 706-7808
The Center for Biomolecular Therapeutics (CBT)

Nuclear Magnetic Resonance Spectroscopy: 600 MHz Bruker Avance III NMR Spectrometer, 800 MHz Bruker Avance NMR Spectrometer, 950 MHz Bruker Avance III NMR Spectrometer

David J. Weber, PhD dweber@som.umaryland.edu 410 706 4354
The Clinical and Translational Research Informatics Center (CTRIC)

Accelerating the translation of scientific discoveries from the basic science bench to clinical studies, bedside practice, and community intervention, through use of information technologies (IT) and informatics.

Tamar Pair tpair@som.umaryland.edu 410-706-3461
Translational Genomics Laboratory (TGL) Core

CAP accredited and CLIA compliant laboratory, capable of providing support to clinical and translational genetic/genomic studies (CAP# 8017554) (CLIA# 21D2027356).

Danielle Sewell dsewell@som.umaryland.edu (410) 706-3339
Translational Laboratory Shared Service (UMGCC)

Pre-clinical and clinical experimental support to basic researchers and physicians. We work in areas across the entire spectrum: cell biology, in vitro, in vivo and human trials.

Rena Lapidus, PhD RLapidus@som.umaryland.edu 410-328-8092
University of Maryland Medicine (UMM) Biorepository

A foundation for personalized medicine. Includes banking of blood samples from UMMS patients, collections of various biospecimens from collaborating researchers. State-of-the-art robotic freezer & liquid-handling equipment. Secure & managed environment for processing, storage & distribution.

Coleen M. Damcott, Ph.D. cdamcott@som.umaryland.edu 410-706-8968
Virus Vector Core

Production of viral-based gene delivery including adeno-associated virus (AAV) . The Core will offer varieties of serotypes and virus purification for gene therapy in brain or other tissues. In addition, the core will provide services for vector design and custom cloning to generate vectors.

Ramesh Chandra RChandra@som.umaryland.edu 410 706 2770

non-iLab Cores at University of Maryland School of Medicine

Core Name Primary Contact Email Phone Number/Ext
BIORESCO

Your lab supply store and then some! Everything you need to keep your lab well supplied and running well!

Carol McKissick, MBA freezer@umaryland.edu 410-706-0322
CHIB: Center for Health Related Informatics & Bioimaging

Applies major advances in computing power to address grand challenges in genomics, health records management and in analyzing massive amounts of data available from new imaging technologies

Owen White, PhD owhite@som.umaryland.edu
Computer Aided Drug Design Center

Flow and Mass cytometry: DakoCytomation MoFlo flow cytometer and cell sorter, BD Biosciences LSR II flow cytometer and

Alexander D. MacKerell, Jr amackere@rx.umaryland.edu 410-706-7442
Cytogenetics

CLIA-certified facility that offers comprehensive cytogenetic diagnosis for both constitutional and acquired chromosome abnormalities.

Ying Zou, PhD YZou@som.umaryland.edu 410-706-2809
Genomic Resource Center (GRC)

High-throughput laboratory and data analysis. The GRC team includes scientists, bioinformaticians, project managers, and research specialists with extensive experience in planning and managing both small and large-scale projects.

Lisa DeShong Sadzewicz, PhD lsadzewicz@som.umaryland.edu 410-706-6734
Informatics Resource Center (IRC)

Supports the bioinformatics activities by providing annotation and analysis of genomic data using state-of-the-art computational infrastructure.

Anup Mahurkar amahurkar@som.umaryland.edu
Vet Services

Provide veterinary supervision for husbandry and health care related to facilities management, diagnosis, treatment and prevention of intercurrent disease in research animals.

Louis J. DeTolla, VMD, MS, PhD, DACLAM detolla@vetmed.umaryland.edu 410-706-8537
Microbiome Service Laboratory (MSL)

Start to finish services related to high throughput analysis of microbiome projects.

Michael Humphrys mhumphrys@som.umaryland.edu 410 706 1481
Transgenic Resource Concierge

Facilitate all aspects of customized production of genetically engineered rodent models.

Louis J. DeTolla, VMD, MS, PhD, DACLAM detolla@vetmed.umaryland.edu 410-706-8537
BSL3 Flow Cytometry

BSL3 lab enables sorting of HIV (or other virus)-infected live cells.

Yutaka Tagaya, BM, PhD ytagaya@ihv.umaryland.edu 410-706-5870
µQuant Core

ELISAs, RT-PCR, Quantitative PCR, Antibody Production & Purification, Protein Purification, Cell Culture

Ping-Hsin Rex Lin, MS plin@ihv.umaryland.edu 410-706-4648